Disappearance at Devil's Rock

Author(s): Paul Tremblay

Horror & Ghost Stories

A family is shaken to its core after the mysterious disappearance of a teenage boy in this eerie tale, a blend of literary fiction, psychological suspense, and supernatural horror from the author of A Head Full of Ghosts.


"A Head Full of Ghosts scared the living hell out of me, and I'm pretty hard to scare," raved Stephen King about Paul Tremblay's previous novel. Now, Tremblay returns with another disturbing tale sure to unsettle readers.


Late one summer night, Elizabeth Sanderson receives the devastating news that every mother fears: her thirteen-year-old son, Tommy, has vanished without a trace in the woods of a local park.


The search isn't yielding any answers, and Elizabeth and her young daughter, Kate, struggle to comprehend Tommy's disappearance. Feeling helpless and alone, their sorrow is compounded by anger and frustration: the local and state police have uncovered no leads. Josh and Luis, the friends who were the last to see Tommy before he vanished, may not be telling the whole truth about that night in Borderland State Park, when they were supposedly hanging out a landmark the local teens have renamed Devil's Rock.


Living in an all-too-real nightmare, riddled with worry, pain, and guilt, Elizabeth is wholly unprepared for the strange series of events that follow. She believes a ghostly shadow of Tommy materializes in her bedroom, while Kate and other local residents claim to see a shadow peering through their windows in the dead of night. Then, random pages torn from Tommy's journal begin to mysteriously appear--entries that reveal an introverted teenager obsessed with the phantasmagoric; the loss of his father, killed in a drunk-driving accident a decade earlier; a folktale involving the devil and the woods of Borderland; and a horrific incident that Tommy believed connects them.


As the search grows more desperate, and the implications of what happened become more haunting and sinister, no one is prepared for the shocking truth about that night and Tommy's disappearance at Devil's Rock.


Product Information

A standalone blend of literary fiction, psychological suspense, and supernatural horror from the award-winning author of A Head Full of Ghosts. For fans of Stephen King, Shirley Jackson and Mark Z. Danielewski.

"A Head Full of Ghosts scared the living hell out of me, and I'm pretty hard to scare." Stephan King. "Weather psychological or supernatural, this is a work of deviously subtle horror." Publishers Weekly (starred review) on A Head Full of Ghosts.

Paul Tremblay is a multiple Bram Stoker Award finalist and author of the crime novels The Little Sleep and No Sleep Till Wonderland. He has served as the president of the board of directors of the Shirley Jackson Awards, and his essays and short fiction have appeared in the Los Angeles Times and numerous year's best anthologies. He has a master's degree in mathematics and lives outside Boston with his wife and two children.

General Fields

  • : 9781785653643
  • : Titan Books Limited
  • : Titan Books Limited
  • : July 2016
  • : 198mm X 130mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : October 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paul Tremblay
  • : Paul Tremblay
  • : Paperback
  • : Paperback
  • : 400
  • : 400
  • : 813.6
  • : 813.6