Eagles of the Empire #1 Under the Eagle

Author(s): Simon Scarrow

Historical

IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME

UNDER THE EAGLE is the gripping first novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling EAGLES OF THE EMPIRE series. A must read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. Praise for Simon Scarrow's compelling novels: 'Gripping and moving' The Times


AD 42, Germany. Tough, brutal and unforgiving. That's how new recruit Cato is finding life in the Roman Second Legion. He may have contacts in high places, but he could really use a friend amongst his fellow soldiers right now.


Cato has been promoted above his comrades at the order of the Emperor and is deeply resented by the other men. But he quickly earns the respect of his Centurion, Macro, a battle-hardened veteran as rough and ready as Cato is quick-witted and well-educated. They are poles apart, but soon realise they have a lot to learn from one another.


On a campaign to Britannia - a land of utter barbarity - an enduring friendship begins. But as they undertake a special mission to thwart a conspiracy against the Emperor they rapidly find themselves in a desperate fight to survive...


Product Information

As savage enemies rise against the Roman army, a treacherous battle begins. The first novel in Simon Scarrow's popular Roman series

'Everyone has been raving about the film GLADIATOR, but Cato's story is its equal in bloody cut and thrust and has the bonus of conspiracy and intrigue to give it extra flavour' -- Northern Echo 'I don't need this sort of competition' -- Bernard Cornwell

Simon Scarrow is a former teacher who now devotes himself to writing full time. He lives outside Norwich with his family.

General Fields

  • : 9780755349708
  • : Headline Publishing Group
  • : Headline Book Publishing
  • : August 2008
  • : 198mm X 130mm X 29mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : November 2008
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : 448
  • : 448
  • : 823.914
  • : 823.914
  • : English
  • : English
  • : Simon Scarrow
  • : Simon Scarrow
  • : Maps
  • : 1
  • : Maps
  • : 1
  • : Paperback